The Futures League


2020 Adam Keenan Award Winners Named

WEYMOUTH, Mass. (August 19, 2020) -- The Adam Keenan Sportsmanship & Scholarship Award is presented annually in honor of Adam Keenan, a special member of the Futures Collegiate Baseball League family.

This prestigious award is bestowed upon the Futures League player who exemplifies the outstanding attitude, character and sportsmanship that is synonymous with Adam Keenan's legacy. Adam was a former Franklin Pierce and UMass Lowell player who also played for the FCBL’s former Seacoast Mavericks.

On June 6, 2011, Adam passed away suddenly. He had a rare, undiagnosed heart condition known as Arrhythmogenic Right Ventricular Cardiomyopathy or ARVC. He was an amazing individual that exhibited sportsmanship, enthusiasm, and passion for the game of baseball, and his legacy lives on through this award.

This season, a winner of Adam Keenan Sportsmanship & Scholarship Award was selected from each of the FCBL’s six teams:

Jonathan Luders, North Shore Navigators, Seton Hall University
Patrick DeSalvo, Brockton Rox, Georgetown University
Danny Crossen, Westfield Starfires, Northeastern University
Josh Roberge, Nashua Silver Knights, Wheaton College
Michael Caruso, New Britain Bees, Fairfield University
Danny Torres, Worcester Bravehearts, Saint Leo University

“My family and I would like to recognize all of the players who were nominated for the Adam Keenan Sportsmanship and Scholarship Award,” said Audrey Keenan. “The players’ dedication and love for the game is especially admirable this season given the current pandemic. Therefore, we have decided to give each nominated player a $500 scholarship in appreciation of their positive attitude and sportsmanship.”