The Futures League


2020 All-Futures League Teams Announced

WEYMOUTH, Mass. (September 8, 2020) -- Following the milestone 10th season of Futures Collegiate Baseball League (FCBL) action throughout New England, the top players from all six teams were recognized on the 2020 All-FCBL Teams as announced on Tuesday.

Commissioner Joe Paolucci unveiled the All-FCBL First and Second Teams. Both squads include a position player at each position on the field, a designated hitter, two utility players and a four- or five-man pitching staff.

All six FCBL teams are represented on both the First and Second Teams, with the Brockton Rox and Nashua Silver Knights each boasting a league-high seven players across the two rosters. The newly-crowned, five-time champion Silver Knights have four players on the First Team, as do the North Shore Navigators.

Worcester catcher and 2020 Most Valuable Player Ben Rice (Dartmouth) leads an All-FCBL First Team that includes two other Bravehearts in pitcher Angelo Baez (St. Thomas Aquinas) and second baseman Matt Shaw (Maryland). In addition to Baez, whose 1.29 ERA led the league, the First Team pitching staff includes Brockton righty and 2020 Pitcher of the Year Nick Sinacola (Maine), Westfield’s Chase Jeter (Sacred Heart) and Nashua’s Nick Guarino (Clark).

Nashua first baseman Dominic Keegan (Vanderbilt), the league’s top run producer with 38 RBI, headlines the First Team infield along with Shaw, who hit eight home runs in just 11 regular-season games. Rounding out the infield are Brockton shortstop Jake Gelof (Virginia) and North Shore third baseman Cody Morissette (Boston College).

Two of this summer’s First Team outfielders were MVP finalists from Northeastern in Nashua’s Jared Dupere and North Shore’s Ben Malgeri. Fellow Navigator and 2020 Top Pro Prospect Sal Frelick (Boston College) rounds out the trio on the grass. Nashua’s John Mead (Franklin Pierce) is the designated hitter, and North Shore’s Logan Bravo (Harvard) and New Britain’s Noah Martinez (Central Connecticut State) are the utility players.

Baez, Sinacola, Rice and Dupere were also All-FCBL First Team performers for their respective teams in 2019 as well.

Three of the five pitchers on the All-FCBL Second Team are left-handed in Brockton’s Tim Noone (Babson), New Britain’s Drew Mead (Marymount) and Westfield’s Jeff Taylor (Millersville). Worcester’s Christopher Mott (New York Tech) and Nashua’s Griffin Young (Wheaton) are the final two pitchers. The group's catcher is New Britain's Mike Caruso (Fairfield).

The corner infield positions on the Second Team belong to a pair of Brockton Rox in first baseman Joe Bramanti (Maine) and third baseman Buddy Dewaine (Central Connecticut State), the latter who was also a First Team selection last year. In the middle are Westfield second baseman Drew DeMartino (Hartford) and Worcester shortstop EJ Exposito (New York Tech). Two other infielders are the utility players in Nashua’s Nick Shumski (Merrimack) and New Britain’s Danniel Rivera (Southern New Hampshire).

North Shore’s Cam Climo (UMass Lowell) joins the Brockton duo of Joel Lara (Franklin Pierce) and Jacob Studley (Wheaton) in the Second Team outfield. Nashua veteran Dylan Jones (Franklin Pierce) earned his second consecutive Second Team honor, this time as a designated hitter.

P: Nick Sinacola, Brockton Rox, University of Maine
**Pitcher of the Year**
P: Angelo Baez, Worcester Bravehearts, St. Thomas Aquinas College
P: Chase Jeter, Westfield Starfires, Sacred Heart University
P: Nick Guarino, Nashua Silver Knights, Clark University
C: Ben Rice, Worcester Bravehearts, Dartmouth College
**Most Valuable Player**
1B: Dominic Keegan, Nashua Silver Knights, Vanderbilt University
2B: Matt Shaw, Worcester Bravehearts, University of Maryland
SS: Jake Gelof, Brockton Rox, University of Virginia
3B: Cody Morissette, North Shore Navigators, Boston College
OF: Ben Malgeri, North Shore Navigators, Northeastern University
**Defensive Player of the Year**
OF: Sal Frelick, North Shore Navigators, Boston College
**Top Pro Prospect**
OF: Jared Dupere, Nashua Silver Knights, Northeastern University
DH: John Mead, Nashua Silver Knights, Franklin Pierce University
Utility: Noah Martinez, New Britain Bees, Central Connecticut State University
Utility: Logan Bravo, North Shore Navigators, Harvard University

P: Drew Mead, New Britain Bees, Marymount University
P: Tim Noone, Brockton Rox, Babson College
P: Christopher Mott, Worcester Bravehearts, New York Institute of Technology
P: Jeff Taylor, Westfield Starfires, Millersville University
P: Griffin Young, Nashua Silver Knights, Wheaton College
C: Mike Caruso, New Britain Bees, Fairfield University
1B: Joe Bramanti, Brockton Rox, University of Maine
2B: Drew DeMartino, Westfield Starfires, University of Hartford
SS: EJ Exposito, Worcester Bravehearts, New York Institute of Technology
3B: Buddy Dewaine, Brockton Rox, Central Connecticut State University
OF: Cam Climo, North Shore Navigators, UMass Lowell
OF: Joel Lara, Brockton Rox, Franklin Pierce University
OF: Jacob Studley, Brockton Rox, Wheaton College
DH: Dylan Jones, Nashua Silver Knights, Franklin Pierce University
Utility: Danniel Rivera, New Britain Bees, Southern New Hampshire University
Utility: Nick Shumski, Nashua Silver Knights, Merrimack College